Nominations are open for the Women in IT Awards UK 2021

With the first nomination deadline on April 16th, it's time to highlight the female tech leader that inspires you and your organisation

Nominations are open for the Women in IT Awards UK 2021, and the first deadline is approaching. The event, which celebrates the achievements of women in technology, carries more weight this year considering the growing digital skills gap and the impact of COVID-19 on women and working mothers.

Sponsored by the likes of J.P Morgan and Accenture and in partnership with Amazon Web Services, the awards take place on June 24, 2021, and the Women in IT Summit a day before on June 23, 2021.

What the awards does

The aim is to highlight role models that are making the tech sector a more inclusive place. Each year, new awards categories are introduced in pace with changing market developments, roles, and responsibilities.

Acknowledging these role models could inspire the next generation of tech professionals and “build a united community of change-makers” committed to making the sector better reflect the diversity of the real world.

Entrepreneurs to start-ups and large corporates can be awarded, and this year there are 20 categories, including CTO, DEI Initiative, Next Generation Leader, Innovator, and Woman of the Year.

Why the awards are important

With the pandemic bringing digital transformation forward, the economy needs upskilled employees in various tech-related areas to fill positions; however, organisations must ensure women and ethnic-minorities get a chance.

Currently, in Europe, only 17% of ICT (information and communications technology) specialists are women, while those in the sector earn 19% less than men.

Gender inequality aside, the tech sector suffers from a lack of BAME and LGBT+ professionals, which is a disservice to an industry that prides itself on innovation.

Aside from the social and moral necessity for creating a truly diverse and inclusive tech workforce, diverse teams are more likely to connect with customers and create the goods and services they want.

Women in IT Awards UK categories

  • Advocate of the Year
  • Board Director of the Year
  • CIO of the Year
  • CTO of the Year
  • Data Leader of the Year
  • DEI Initiative of the Year
  • Digital Transformation Leader of the Year
  • Education and Training Initiative of the Year
  • Employer of the Year (up to 250 employees)
  • Employer of the Year (over 250 employees)
  • Entrepreneur of the Year
  • Innovator of the Year
  • IT Team of the Year (led by a woman)
  • Male Ally of the Year
  • Next Generation Leader of the Year
  • Outstanding Contribution of the Year
  • Returner of the Year
  • Security Leader of the Year
  • Tech for Good Award of the Year
  • Woman of the Year

Nominations close on the 16th of April 2021. The winners will be revealed in a virtual ceremony on 24 June 2021. We accept self-nominations or you can nominate an individual or organisation. Nominate Now.

Rate This: