Winners of the Women in IT Awards Canada 2022 revealed!

This event celebrated the extraordinary work of women in the technology industry

Congratulations to the winners of the Women in IT Awards Canada 2022, who were celebrated in style at a prestigious awards ceremony held at the Four Seasons, Toronto, Canada, on October 25th.

In a room filled with colleagues, peers and supporters of equity and inclusion, fifteen women trailblazers, organisations, and allies were recognised for their outstanding work to promote diversity in tech.

McGowan won for being a true innovator who cares immensely about inclusivity and diversity within the tech space.

The judges described her as an ally and advocate of women, diverse communities and technology, especially how it will impact the future of work and our daily lives.

McGowan’s contributions and relentless work in helping to advance diversity, equity and inclusion in tech have earned her recognition as a true role model of excellence.

“She is a phenomenal woman leading it all – driving business results; making technology jobs accessible; and bridging the gender gap,” commented the judges.

The winners included Cindy Gordon from SalesChoice Inc, crowned Entrepreneur of the Year and Alexandra Sunderland, who won Next Generation Leader of the Year for her excellent work at Fellow.

The Women in IT Awards Canada 2022 continue to celebrate the extraordinary work of women breaking the rules in the technology industry, where they are still underrepresented. 

Since their beginning, these prestigious Awards have recognised and celebrated hundreds of women, allies and organisations across Canada for their outstanding contributions and commitment to building a more inclusive technology industry where everyone can thrive and succeed.  

Impactful work

At a time of transformation, when the emergence of Web3 and Web4 are raising many hopes for building new fields that will have a strong impact on the future, especially on women, the 2022 Awards are about innovation, growth and results. 

This year’s winners have been distinguished for overcoming the complex challenges of the past two years. 

The judging panel of unparalleled technology and DEI influencers selected individuals, organisations and initiatives that have gone above and beyond to significantly impact businesses, employees and the industry.  

All agree that there is still a long way to go for women to make their voices heard in this non-inclusive industry, but this new edition of the Women in IT Awards Canada 2022 is already a first step in highlighting those who are doing the work. 

The Women in IT Awards Canada 2022 was sponsored by Premium Sponsor Equitable Bank and Award Sponsors Dynatrace. The event supporters were Colliers, Loblaw Technology and Analytics, Hitachi, SCI, Splunk and Teknion.

The hosts were Cheryl Cole, editor of DiversityQ and Tania Ferreira, Portfolio Director and Head of Content Production for the Global Women in IT series.

Opening the ceremony, Cole said: “To the untold and obscured stories of impactful technical women – I cherish opportunities like this to document technical prowess, acknowledge women in STEM and move our social norm to one that recognises that these women exist – and society only truly thrives when they thrive.” 

The winners of the Women in IT Awards Canada 2022: 

Advocate of the Year

Frincy ClementWomen in Artificial Intelligence CanadaTELUS Business

Ally of the Year

Annayah Jean Fernandez RiveraAccenture

Chief Information Technology Officer of the Year

Claire LamLoopt

Data Leader of the Year

Ferial SheybaniColliers

DEI Initiative of the Year

Neurodiverse Professional Services Partnership, Salesforce

Digital Transformation Leader of the Year

Elaine OeiCineplex Entertainment Ltd

Diversity Lead of the Year

Sophia DhroliaToronto Region Board of Trade

Employer of the Year

Greenlight Consulting

Entrepreneur of the Year

Cindy GordonSalesChoice Inc.

Innovator of the Year

Dr Chandana UnnithanLifeguard Digital Health

IT Team of the Year (led by a woman)

RBC, led by Melissa Carvalho

Next Generation Leader of the Year

Alexandra SunderlandFellow

Outstanding Contribution of the Year

Jenny AlfandaryWestario Power Inc.

Sustainable Tech Award of the Year

Tas DamenConnected Canadians

Woman of the Year

Claudette McGowanTD Bank

The 2023 entry process will open next year; join the community to be notified when nominations open or contact the team here.

Rate This: