Shortlist announced for the Women in IT Awards Canada 2022

Read on for more on the awards happening in person on the 25th October

Bringing a perfect opportunity to network, reconnect and celebrate with colleagues and peers across the tech industry, this year’s Canada edition of the Women in IT Summit and Awards will be the first to take place in person since 2019, commencing at the Four Seasons Hotel in Toronto.

The ceremony will be the fourth of five awards events this year, the UK and Asia editions having happened in February and June, respectively, while WIT Awards USA will commence in September and Ireland in December 2022.

This will be presented on the same day as the Women in IT Summit Canada 2022.

The Women in IT Summit and Awards Series has been raising awareness of the contributions and successes of women in tech since 2015 while recognising the importance of diversity, equity and inclusion.

The full shortlist of exceptional women and allies participating in the Women in IT Awards Canada 2022 is as follows:

Advocate of the Year

Alma Barranco-MendozaInfogenetica Solutions Ltd

Cinzia BazzoWorkday

Frincy ClementWomen in Artificial Intelligence CanadaTELUS Business

Helen Knight, H. Knight Non-Profit IT Consulting Inc.

Kate ManolisPlenty of Fish

Margarita SimonovaILoveMyQA

Nasheen LiuThe IT Media Group Inc.

Sana Abou Shaaban, Canada Border Services Agency (CBSA)

Santa Di StefanoPythian Services Inc.

Shiyamali Paranirupasingam, Women in Artificial Intelligence (WAI)

Ally of the Year

Annayah Jean Fernandez RiveraAccenture

Marie-Christine LegaultCprime

Marvin WongSECURE Energy

Rhonda Rudnitski, SECURE Energy

Chief Information Technology Officer of the Year

Amanda Jane PreeceCanadian Food Inspection Agency

Claire LamLoopt

Kristine MiddlemissMonsters Aliens Robots Zombies

Michelle JoliatOntario Teachers’ Pension Plan

Data Leader of the Year

Andrea Niu, General Motors

Delsie SequeiraICF Consulting Canada

Diana Esparza, Export Development Canada (EDC)

Ferial SheybaniColliers

Kasia WakarecyPythian Services Inc.

Megha NarayananSpotHero

Parisa LakManulife

Penka BochevaEPAM

DEI Initiative of the Year

Accenture Technology and I&D Recruitment Team, Accenture

Neurodiverse Professional Services Partnership, Salesforce

Women in Identity

Women in Technology Group, Loblaw Technology & Analytics

Digital Transformation Leader of the Year


Elaine OeiCineplex Entertainment Ltd

Elysia DouillardJOEY Restaurant Group

Ferial SheybaniColliers

Galia Forouzesh FarMidfield Interactive

Marlene RossOak Valley Health

Michelle JoliatOntario Teachers’ Pension Plan

Natasha GilaniAccenture

Sumika SinghHome Trust Company

Thanuja KarunamoorthyEquitable Bank

Diversity Lead of the Year

Constance FrenetteBell Canada

Farzia KhanTD Bank

Sophia DhroliaToronto Region Board of Trade

Employer of the Year

Equitable Bank

Greenlight Consulting

JOVACO Solutions

Pythian Services Inc.


Entrepreneur of the Year

Caitlin MacGregorPlum

Cindy GordonSalesChoice Inc.

Elena SinelnikovaMetis


Innovator of the Year

Alison MenaryEmbross/Toronto Public Library

Dr Chandana UnnithanLifeguard Digital Health

Garima BajpaiCapital Carbon Consulting

Jenny LemieuxVivid Machines


Malgosia GreenPlenty of Fish

Stephanie LawGreenlight Consulting

Xiaomei WangInsightZen

IT Team of the Year (led by a woman)

Colliers, led by Ferial Sheybani

Opendoor, led by Heather Natour

Ontario Teachers’ Pension Plan, led by Lisa Schiraldi

SEDNA, led by Lakshmi Baskaran

ILoveMyQA, led by Margarita Simonova

RBC, led by Melissa Carvalho

Professional Engineers Ontario, led by Michelle Wehrle

Walmart Canada, led by Michon Williams

Eduplan Solutions, led by Nathalie Myara

Accenture, led by Jennifer Jackson

Next Generation Leader of the Year

Alexandra SunderlandFellow

Doris Qian, Government of Canada, Environment and Climate Change

Elena GrigorasLoblaw

Ellis OdynnEY Digital Finance Institute

Farzia KhanTD Bank

Garima BajpaiCapital Carbon Consulting

Jacqueline DoAccenture

Stephanie Longdentalcorp

Outstanding Contribution of the Year

Beth Gerritsen, Primary Care -Independent

Brenda Okorogba, Momentswithbren Consulting

Jenny AlfandaryWestario Power Inc.

Marijana ZuvelaMcDonald’s

Natalia BakhtinaBFL Canada

Sustainable Tech Award of the Year

Jenny LemieuxVivid Machines

Rachel HorCarbonTerra

Tas DamenConnected Canadians

Woman of the Year

Amanda Jane PreeceCanadian Food Inspection Agency

Claudette McGowanTD Bank

Constance FrenetteBell Canada Inc.

Jenny AlfandaryWestario Power Inc.

Julieann Esper RainvillePointClickCare

Malgosia GreenPlenty of Fish

Maria BoloviseStruxture Data Centers

Michelle WehrleProfessional Engineers Ontario

Santa Di StefanoPythian Services Inc.

Winnie YeCarleton University

To find out more about the Women in IT Awards Canada 2022, click here.

Rate This: